La Traviata – The Ballet opens at Joburg Theatre on 31 March

Joburg Ballet’s first production of 2017 is the celebrated South African choreographer Veronica Paeper’s La Traviata – The Ballet at Joburg Theatre for ten performances from Friday 31 March to Sunday 9 April. Set to the unforgettable music of Verdi’s opera, the ballet was last performed in Johannesburg to public and critical acclaim in 2008 and is a moving portrait of a woman who sacrifices everything for the man she loves.

Joburg Ballet_Burnise Silvius & Juan Pablo Ledo in La Traviata_Photo Lauge Sorensen

Three dancers will alternate in the role of the tragic heroine Camille. Prima ballerina Burnise Silvius, in her final three performances before retiring, will be partnered by guest artist Juan Pablo Ledo from Argentina in the role of Armand. Also appearing in the role of Camille are principal dancer Shannon Glover and senior soloist Claudia Monja, while principal dancer Michael Revie is joined in the role of Armand by Ledo and guest artist Daniel Szybkowski from Cape Town City Ballet.

La Traviata – The Ballet

Dates, Times, Prices:

Fri 31 Mar at 19:30 – Half Price: R90, R125, R170, R195, R225

Sat 1 Apr at 19:30 – Saturday Night Special all tickets 20% off

Fri 7 Apr, Sat 8 Apr at 19:30 & Sat 1 Apr, Sun 2 Apr, Sat 8 Apr, Sun 9 Apr at 15:00 –Tickets: R180, R250, R340, R390, R450

Tue 4 Apr & Wed 5 Apr at 11:00 – All tickets R80

Where: Joburg Theatre, Braamfontein

Book now: Joburg Theatre Box Office; or tel. 0861 670 670; or online at www.webtickets.co.za

Patrons can also book and pay via the Nedbank app and at selected Pick n Pay stores (full list at www.webtickets.co.za/pnpoutlets.aspx)